Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
is it waste of my time boosting a 141k miles d16y7?

the engine seems like its running strong. compression was even across, but i dont remember what the number was.

i was planning to get the greddy kit or something like this http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Turbo-Kit-Honda-Civic-D-series-CRX-Intercooler-T3_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ6755QQitemZ4573762822QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW

but im new to this turbo thing and i dont know what kind of fmu or ecu i need to run.

any suggestion or opinions are welcomed

Cliff

·
Registered
4,585 Posts
What is compression across the board??

O

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
^ yup
check leakdown, compression and change the timing belt and do a full tune up if compression and leak down are good.

C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i will do compression and leak down again when i get a chance, i would think that the timing belts already been changed at 141k, i bought the car when it was 137k.

its a 96 civic dx hatch for 1800, it had little damage so i took it home and did some body work on it, now it looks good except the car is primer.

the clutch is shot too on the car, everyone in my family has been learning on this car. so if anyone has any recommendations for clutch, post it.

one more question, does anyone know the badside of swapping in a stolen motor (b16)? besides inspection and police popping my hood when they pull me over(which i highly doubt they will).

i can get a legit k20 from a wrecked Si for 2000, but i dont have the money to custom all the parts thats needed for the swap

·
Registered
836 Posts
does anyone know the badside of swapping in a stolen motor (b16)?