Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 150 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was just wondering if there was anything that i should have anything put onto my car (ignition, cam, port and polish) before i go with nitrous. I am a noob to nitrous but any help you guys can provide would be great.

S

·
0 Posts
I have been running nitrous for about a year in my 95 EX coupe- D16Z6 (89K). First I applaud u for posting and not just throwing on a kit and blowing your motor then posting asking us why u blew it. Below I have listed the steps I have taken with my nitrous along with my dyno numbers:

1. Read and do research before u buy and hook up anything. I have sat in Barnes and Noble bookstore for hours reading magazines and books. I would recommend a book called "Sport Compact Nitrous Injection" by Joe Pettitt, it can be ordered on amazon.com for $13.27, there are a few other good books out there just look in the car section. Also find all posts in the forced induction forums on here, honda-tech.com, and dserieshonda, people with your same car will tell u there experiences- good and bad with it. I researched for about 8 months before I even ordered my kit.
2. Start out small 35 shot then to 55, and if u have balls and a strong motor a 75 shot. I purchased a Nitrous Express Import Single Fogger Wet Kit. It sprays nitrous and fuel through the same nozzle and into the motor. I have never had a problem with the kit, great quality and customer service.
3. Purchase the Gen-x 2 upgrade kit it comes with a purge solenoid and tube, blow down tube(required if u race at a NHRA track), bottle heater, gauge and adapter. Good investment.