Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
formerly allnaturalrex
1989 honda crx si
4,639 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
would you guys recommend getting into autocross first before getting into hpde. reason being i need to stay busy until next season before i go back to the strip. autocross seems fun but everyone i know hates autocross and just like going to the hpde events out here. either way im a novice at both since i never have tried either. im just tired of being harassed by my friends for being oldschool in liking the drag strip more lol.

·
formerly allnaturalrex
1989 honda crx si
4,639 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
hpde would be local for me since we have willow springs out here and autox would be in fontana which is a hour and a half from me. being convenient is not a factor i just want to know people opinions.

the only thing that throws me off of autox is being in second all the time but the quik reaction aspect to turns brings me back up.

hpde just seems like its a more open event to being able to use the car to its full potential.

then again i have no experience in either so ill shut up now and leave it up to you guys.

·
Premium Member
A lot
2,028 Posts
The way I see it, any practice you get behind the wheel is valuable experience regardless of what type of competition it is.

·
Premium Member
A lot
2,028 Posts
ill probably be getting into auto-x next year. ive never done it before, watched, but never raced
You need to move to this side of the mtns.

Then youll be road racing and rallycrossing too.

·
Registered
698 Posts
I agree ^ ANY experience behind the wheel will benefit you and advance your driving skills. I participate in AutoX and have learned a crap-ton. It's cheaper, at least up here to do AutoX than a high performance class. Also, get your hands on as many books as you can involving former pros talking about secrets to their success. You'll get a lot out of them, trust me.

·
formerly allnaturalrex
1989 honda crx si
4,639 Posts