Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys im a noob here that needs help a.s.a.p. i just got my engine put back together and it runs fine except for the head gasket leak. i also took off the timing cover and oil has gotten on the timing belt. my question is if i didn't put loc-tite on the bottom of my arp head studs could it loosen enough for the head gasket to leak?
yes i did get a new head gasket and torqued it to 52 ft./lbs in a 3 step pattern of 15, 35, and then 52 from the middle studs to both ends in a circular fashion if any one is wondering.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
yes i did replace the cam gear seal and it is the head gasket thats leaking because i can see it forming puddles on the block behind the exhaust manifold. im starting to think that its just the head gasket because i got it off ebay which comes in a whole gasket kit.

·
Classic Man
16,355 Posts
them ebay HG's are junk. but it shouldnt just be leaking

i suspect its because you didnt read the instructions on how to torque your head studs. IIRC its 60ftlb. i went 65ftlb with mine and it held 30psi no problem

·
Registered
1,327 Posts
Check the torque. My ARPs loosened ~1/4 turn after the first warm up and another 1/4 turn by the tenth heat cycle before they held torque. If that doesn't help, resurface the head and use a felpro or oem hg, spray it with copper spray and torque the arps 20-40-60. Also the torque sequence isn't circular it's
8 6 2 4 10
9 3 1 5 7

·
Registered
689 Posts
lol @ ebay gasket.

will anyone learn that ebay brand stlye parts will nevr hold up?