Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 333 Posts

·
Registered
857 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, it seems to be my first post here so maybe a small introduction would be nice.. I'm an automotive engineering student from Finland, and buildin a D16Z6 all-motor setup for my '90 hatch (has originally D15B2 dpfi engine, I think its DX in US or something)..

Well, my engine.. I'm hoping to get +160whp from it(and I know its high).

-Crower stage 3 cam and valvetrain kit
-Home made ITB setup (inc. whole manifold), 42mm from CBR954RR. 9" long
-My own made 4-1 header. It's basicly a hybrid of HyTech and Bisimoto designs. 1 5/8" primaries, anti-reversion chambers, 26" long, merged collector (tapers from ~2" to 2.5" outlet). 2.5" high-flow cat (Catco maybe, I can get them for cheap) and 2.5" exhaust. That's because I feel 2" is small and 2.25" stuff is pretty hard/expensive to get here.
-All headworks etc by me (I've some experience with these things)
-PM7 pistons and rods
-VEMS http://vems.hu standalone engine management, coil-on-plug direct ignition etc
-ACT XTSS Xtreme clutch and ProLite flywheel, all ARP-hardware, Walbro 255lph... and another "usual things"

The cost for this fun is gonna stay below 2 grands, so maybe its not too much..
I'll post some pics a later (there's a plenty of them)

·
Registered
822 Posts
I've gotta see that header! Very nice setup for under 2G. Good luck with the ignition and tuning!

Why did you choose Coil-On-Plug though?

·
Registered
857 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here's one pic from the header;

It's my first own-made header, and I'm not a professional welder, so it's not very pretty.. But should work. It's gonna get a sand blasting and ceramic coating. Maybe even a heat wrap too. It also looks a bit funny, but it's very tight space in ED body..

Also a couple of pics from the ITBs;

I decided to do it all by myself, so I can get exactly what I want. ATM I'm driving with those in my old D15 engine, and finding some tune..