Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
R2.....Zap Balls
5,186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Alarms to a lot of people are confusing and difficult to fig out, This write up should help out with the basics of alarms and their features. When choosing an alarm pick what’s going to fit your budget, what features you’re looking for, and if you want the ability to expand its capabilities later on. I’m no expert on this subject, but alarms were my specialty while I did car audio/security work. Most alarm manufacturers will require you to have them installed by an authorized dealer for warranty purposes, but there are some brands that can be sold over the counter for you to install yourself. If you do not have a good grasp on automotive electrical systems or don’t know someone that does, I highly recommend having your security system installed by a reputable shop to save you a lot of time and headaches. Enough of my rambling, here we go.
First off I’ll go over the basic parts of an alarm:

Transmitter: This is what you use to control the functions of the alarm: arm/disarm, activate extra features, etc. Most transmitters will have at least 2 buttons; some can have up to 4 or 5. The buttons are going to have specific features assigned to them from the fac. Best thing to do is read in the manual or ask your installer to explain what the buttons are assigned to do from the manufacturer. Most transmitters are going to use what they call rolling codes whenever they transmit, this means every time you press a button it’s going to transmit a different code to make it harder for someone to grab your code for your alarm.
Brain: This is the heart of the security system. The brain is what controls all the features of the alarm, and where your sensors and harnesses plug in. Most of the time the brain will be mounted under the dash or under a panel to be hidden from sight.