Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have videos of their d's idling with any type of aftermarket cam. i would like to hear the difference. so if anyone has anything they can post please help me out. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
857 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
when you first start the engine, after a build you want to start from idle rpm range 0-1200 or so and balance that out to 13.5 ? then work you're way up the rpm band balancing the a/f ratio to 13.1 ?

this is for my engine build which is identical to marcin, d16z6 in a ef, crower stg3,itb's, etc etc

thanks, i'm new to tunning concepts

·
Registered
407 Posts
when you first start the engine, after a build you want to start from idle rpm range 0-1200 or so and balance that out to 13.5 ? then work you're way up the rpm band balancing the a/f ratio to 13.1 ?

this is for my engine build which is identical to marcin, d16z6 in a ef, crower stg3,itb's, etc etc

thanks, i'm new to tunning concepts

this is a good article about break in/start up
http://importbuilders.com/breakinarticle.htm
this is another article about break in/start up
http://laskeyracing.com/shop/breakin.htm

as well as this has some good pointers about tuning, although there is some not great info about vtec in there.
http://importbuilders.com/tuningacar.htm

·
Registered
512 Posts
advertised duration: Int=280.5 / Ex=300.6
duration @ .050: Int= 230.6 / Ex= 218.9
lobe seperation: 111.6
gross lift: 417/432

Non-Vtec. Running sidedraught carbs. Not yet in the car though, awaiting forged internals. Gonna spray 150 shot DP.

Who needs Vtec when you can lope like crazy ? :)

·
Registered
407 Posts
advertised duration: Int=280.5 / Ex=300.6
duration @ .050: Int= 230.6 / Ex= 218.9
lobe seperation: 111.6
gross lift: 417/432

Non-Vtec. Running sidedraught carbs. Not yet in the car though, awaiting forged internals. Gonna spray 150 shot DP.