Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
99 civic dx
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi im new to working on my car and need some help.

very soon im comming into an extra 600$ to put into my car.

im wanting to do some things to my y7 to make it faster.

Car has 106hp stock, what id really want is 130-150hp.

So what are some things i can do with 600$ to acheive this goal???

by the way as of now my car is bone stock.. not even cold air intake.

I think i could do some engine work cause i figured out how to take off throttle body and iacv and clean them out all by myself (not saying that is a daunting task or anything but..)

Anywayz....... 600$ list some things i could do to acheive my 140-150hp goal without spending a boatload of cash as ill only have 600$...

5 things i could do with 600$???

·
Registered
1986 Toyota Corolla
272 Posts
Swap over to a manual trans, biggest difference in the world. Then get your self a y8 intake manifold

·
Registered
99 civic dx
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
id love to change my transmission to manual but i cant do the change. sure i could buy all the parts for a little less than 600$ but paying someone for labor might cost alot

·
Registered
97 civic lx
967 Posts
Buy a d16y8 and an automatic d16y8 ecu from a salvage yard. They have 128hp.

Unless your wanting 130hp to the wheels. That's something the search button will help you with.

·
Registered
99 civic dx
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
i need to get better with that "search" button =), thanks guys 128 hp would be ok.. just my car at 106hp feels like its draggin ass, all i really want is it to be more responsive and better at lower rpms

·
Registered
98 dx sedan
895 Posts
I used to have a y7 auto too, and i feel ya on the power lol

Things I would suggest are mostly the same as other peeps.

definitely get a z6 of y8 intake manifold, they're cheap, easy to swap, and there's tons of DIY writeups available.