Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey DS.org,

I am new to DS; however, this is not my first Honda, but it is my first time back to the Honda scene and building a D16. last time I owned a Honda was 15 years ago and the K series didn't exist. additionally, I must preface this build with that this is not my first turbo car/build either.

so in august I got a 93 civic si as payment for some parts I had lying around in the garage. I quickly realized that the car needed much more work than what I had expected. the original Z6 was swapped out for a Y5. after removing the head to examine the engine's condition I found that piston #4 rings landing had broken off. the head's cylinder chamber casting was pretty chewed up from the broken landing. luckily, the block seems salvageable with a good honing.

i'm guessing what led to this was that the previous owner ran the Y5 completely stock, including injectors and software, with a greddy turbo kit. the journal bearing in the turbo is pretty much seized.

constructive criticism and feedback will be greatly appreciated.

pics to come soon.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
planning on using the OE intake mani and TB. selling/trading the FIC 1650s, since theyre going to be on the overkill side for my goals.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
so I am still on the fence with a clutch kit. im def interested in a lightweight FW and something that can support 200-250 wtq.

my heart is pretty set on a S300 setup for EMS.

·
Registered
567 Posts
seems like a nice project to start with. as for the lightened flywheel, there is no need for for one on a boosted appliction

·
Registered
crx
2,683 Posts
just don't go too light. my car came with the act 11lb flywheel and its pretty good. rpms don't raise or drop too fast. once I drove a crx with a 7 lb flywheel and lightweight under drive crank pully and it was real annoying....

·
Registered
matrix
68 Posts