Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
93 Honda Civic
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Iv been looking around at a lot of different sites and haven't really came up with any real solid info on this gen. I just picked a 86 3 door civic(base model) up for $250, and want to swap a cammed d15b7 into it. I realize it is the carbed model since its not the si so I was wondering just how would i do this. Is it possible to use that same intake off the original engine with the carb and put it on the b7? I have heard a lot of people say that gen doesn't have the real d series in it. I'm new to the carb area so that's why im asking.

And for the trans I could bolt the fifth gen si trans on but im guesing the axels wont go through the original hubs. Just what kind of tuning would have to be done for this to happen?

·
They call me Awesome!
4,447 Posts
I'm assuming you've VERY new to cars.

The 3rd gen isn't going to accept any d-series without major work, go to Red Pepper Racing for more info. And go there to search not just make a thread.

No the Carb setup will not bolt to a B7 block, and on top of that you'd have to run a non-PGMFI dizzy.

The 5th gen Trans won't bolt to the 3rd gen Civic's block and on top of that the 5th gen Trans is a Hydro trans and I'm fairly certian that the 3rd is cable. After that I'm nearly positive you'll have to get aftermarket axles.

The D has been swapped into this chassis before but it's not as simple as swapping a D into other chassis's.

·
Registered
93 Honda Civic
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm not completely new to cars, just this gen I don't know anything about. I do realize it is a cable trans, I was saying that IF i could get the b7 to mount in I would get the SI trans for it. But after thinking about it I'm just going to fix it up and sell it due to the fact that its a ridiculous amount of work for a car far from clean. I just needed some answers so I knew where to go with it.

Appreciated the help :)

·
Registered