Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello D-Series.org. I'm sorry if I put this in the wrong forum. I am a little slow sometimes.

I've been using this website as a resource since I built my $2005 Grassroots Motorsports Challenge Car (a d16z6 swapped '88 CRX HF that finished 15 out of 62). I've never posted much because I could find nearly anything I wanted by searching. Seems there are a whole lot of real good tech posts here unlike many other websites. After I ran my car in Florida for the challenge I converted it into a Wheel to Wheel GT Road Race car which I ran a bunch at Hallett Speedway in Oklahoma with good success. I've learned a lot about racing VERY cheaply thanks to this website and figured you guys might be interested in my latest project.

So here goes:

I purchased a dead '89 Civic Sedan LX auto to convert to a 24 Hours of Lemons Road Race Car for $50. The 24 hours of lemons for those that don't know is an endurance road race for beater cars that cost $500 + the cost of safety gear. You get a few allowances for brakes, tires, and exhaust that don't count in the original $500. Its a very "interesting" event that includes a steel reserve drinking challenge and various odd happenings. Our event will be June 6th in Southern Louisiana at No Problem Raceway.

The car is Beat to hell, leaks everything from everywhere but I did get it to run and drove it to my shop in downtown Little Rock, AR. First off was securing a manual tranny. I was able to get a steal of a deal on an '89 crx SI tranny. New Seals and it should be good. I also secured a nearly complete '89 d16a6. High miles but a $100 rebuild kit and $20 seal kit should freshen it up. Decking the head, new valve seals, a good headgasket, and lots of lapping of the valves and I should have a great motor. I'll be running around junk yards for the next couple of weeks for a lot of the MPFI swap and auto-manual swap parts.