Yet another help me figuring out this noise (audio) - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org Motor Mayhem & Suspension Satisfaction Transmission alley

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2019, 10:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

Rep Power: 0 10mm will become famous soon enough10mm will become famous soon enough10mm will become famous soon enough
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default Lucky P20/B000 (Z6) junkyard find for my 6th gen DX (Y7)

I got my hands on a P20/B000 (92-95 Si/EX) trans to put on my 6th gen DX (Y7)

Just put everything back together with the new trans on and fired it up to be greeted with a horrific tapping sound coming from the clutch area. The car drives great and all gears are smooth with no grinding. I just think I screwed up the clutch release fork & bearing. This is only the second time I've put a trans on so I'm a bit of a noob I suppose

EDIT: the noise has gone away mostly now it's just a very faint tapping sound. gonna just drive it as is for now until i get another daily

Here's the MP3 clip of the noise: https://instaud.io/3xgn
  • The noise DOES NOT go away when pressing the clutch pedal
  • Rarely and randomly the noise will go away until I touch the clutch pedal again

I reused the bearing that came with the trans (the P20/B000) I pulled from the junkyard because it looked & felt good. I don't know why I didn't just buy a new bearing while I had the trans off.. I wont make that mistake again

I gravity bled the clutch cylinder the pedal feels nice again. There's no squeaking when pressing the clutch. It's just a constant tapping noise

The bearing on the right says 'JAPAN' on it. That's the one I used. The other bearing doesn't have any markings it came with the EXEDY clutch kit I bought a few years ago and has been on my car since with no issues