D16Y8 Tranny Grind - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org Motor Mayhem & Suspension Satisfaction Transmission alley

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2016, 09:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default D16Y8 Tranny Grind

Hello, I have a 1993 Honda Civic that has a D16Y8. I dont think this is the stock engine in it so I do not know if it is the Standard tranny for the D16Y8 (S40?), or if it is something else. I have not rebuilt a transmission before but my dad is a master mechanic and I am an electrical engineer. Between the two of us this shouldnt be bad.

Moving forward, I like this little car, its really beat up and the people before me did all sorts of awful things to it, but little by little I have been trying to get it nice again. The trans has always had a grind in 3rd and 4th. I have only put maybe, 2k miles on it since I got it 4 years ago, it was always a tinker car.

From my understanding this problem comes from the gear sleeves? I do not know what these look like and have had a hard time finding them online.

Should I do an entire rebuild? Or just the sleeves? And what do these look like, and where can I purchase them.

If the repairs are going to be over $200 I'll probably drive it till it locks up and just junk the car. Which would be a shame but from other threads I read, its likely to be a $600 job just in parts. I never send anything to anyone and I never buy new, but I couldn't trust a junkyard tranny from honda at this point, my Cavalier has never had tranny issues and its sad that so many manual honda's dont seem last as long.
darkipod is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-27-2016, 01:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Brokedick Millionaire