Leaking drive axle seal - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org Motor Mayhem & Suspension Satisfaction Transmission alley

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2010, 05:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default Leaking drive axle seal

Hey every one im new to site and this is my first post. any way i have 97 civic it originally had a D16y8 that i blew and after a few motor i now recently have a 95 d15 non vtec. my tranny is still the original that came with the car. i recently had to replace the input shaft bearing. my tranny has been working fine but now i have a leak from the driver side drive axle seal. i have replaced this seal once before and when i saw the leak i replace it again but it is still leaking it seems to me the leak is coming from over top of the seal. im thing maybe the seal is the wrong size. i fit it over the axle it self and it seemed to fit it was tight and it was loose enough to rotate easily. i don't know if thats normal or not. also my axle seems to not be going in all the way i have hammered and banged it in. it clicks in but these still seems to be a space between the tranny and the axle. i took the lil c ring off of the end to see if that was the problem but it when in the same way theres a rod going through the diff and the axle is hitting it. i don't know if i need a new axle or maybe im putting in the seal too deep can anyone help?

Last edited by 97honsolo; 09-10-2010 at 05:36 PM.
97honsolo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-10-2010, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
D-series soldier

Rep Power: 11 D2ZBOY is da #1 stunnaD2ZBOY is da #1 stunnaD2ZBOY is da #1 stunnaD2ZBOY is da #1 stunnaD2ZBOY is da #1 stunnaD2ZBOY is da #1 stunnaD2ZBOY is da #1 stunna
iTrader Score: 5 reviews