D-series Axles Swapability - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org Motor Mayhem & Suspension Satisfaction Transmission alley

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2010, 10:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
D-series PIMP

Rep Power: 15 funkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatnessfunkified is approaching greatness
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
Default D-series Axles Swapability

I feel like a total noob in asking this but searching has provided mixed answers, and some confusion. So hopefully we can get this cleared up for the last time.....well hopefully lol. Im sure it will come up again soon.

I read the statement that all D axles are the same from 88-00 EXCEPT for the hf/std axles which have different hubs, but some of my confusion comes in the specific application of the axles in regards to different chassis, motor and tranny combinations (well my combo at least ).

I did come across in my search a hilarious thread with Cleft_Asunder. I lol'd at the drama.

Anyways heres my car:

90 Si with a Z6 and a cable tranny - from what I gather I should just use my ED axles with it, which is what I believe I have done this whole time, but will 92-00 axles fit as well with a cable tranny?

I ask because I can get a pair of used 97 CX axles for like $50.

Also from researching that if I convert and use a 92-95 hydro tranny in my ED, that I can ONLY use 92-95 axles (or possibly up to 00??), because one of the axles is longer. Therefore, I cannot use my ED axles in this case. Is that right?