D16 head on D15B1 block - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org Everything Else New Member Introductions

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2016, 03:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default D16 head on D15B1 block

Hello, Several years ago I replaced a head gasket on a D15B1 1990 civic SOHC. Long story short, I bought a remanufactured head due to problems with a machine shop doing the work on the original head. Needless to say, I had a head gasket issue again and now I am rebuilding the entire 1.5 L engine. The problem I have is that the remanufactured head is from a 1.6 L civic. I am aware of this because of the valve spring lengths, cam lobe heights, etc.

The question is: Is this really a problem. I am a Mech Engineer in the Automotive world and understand theories, but sometimes a really solid engine mechanic can school an engineer....yes, I will admit to this.

Can I use this head or is this possibly a reason why I had my second issue with this cyl head (loss of cyl compression).

PS. The car ran fine for about 10,000 miles.
everesev is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-30-2016, 07:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
BATSLOMAN GIVES 0 FUCKS

Rep Power: 50 slo_eg8 is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !slo_eg8 is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !slo_eg8 is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !