Novice trying to learn - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org Everything Else New Member Introductions

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2015, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default Novice trying to learn

About two months ago I bought a 99 civi ex. A short throw shifter, and cold air intake were thrown into it. Other than that I believe the rest is stock. Oh, it also has enkei rims on it.
I'm a newbie mechanic attempting to learn how to work on cars. I know quite basic stuff mostly just how to change parts. (Only did alternator, fuel filter and pump on civic so far) very minor things. What are some tips or advice anyone could give me when it comes to working on cars.
I do want to do some upgrades like cams, exhaust etc. A pure engine build I guess. Maybe turbo in the not so near future. Other than youtube how'd you guys learn how to work on cars? and whats some steps I could take to better my knowledge?

And another small bit, I've worked on a 6th gen toyota celica, again simple things like replacing radiator, gaskets and the starter. But entirely by walked through by dad, who also just knows the basic how to on replacing parts.
Thanks.
Vexedoutcast is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-22-2015, 10:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
wise in the ways of the D

Rep Power: 44 Whoshot is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !Whoshot is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !Whoshot is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !Whoshot is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !Whoshot is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !Whoshot is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !