Questions on ZC Swaps - 5th Gen Civic - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org D-series Knowledge Factory General Tech

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2018, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default Questions on ZC Swaps - 5th Gen Civic

All,

I've never done an engine swap before, but the stock D15B7 in my EG hatch (93' Civic DX 5-speed hatchback) is pretty much done. I'm trying to figure something out to replace it and I don't really want to screw around with junkyard engines or rebuilding the stock engine. I want to stay D-series due to lower weight, lower cost and simplicity. Any engine swapped in would remain stock with intention of driving the car to work, autocross and possibly trackdays.

I've got two questions really that I haven't been able to find answers to through searching:

- Does anyone have any experience with emissions and an OBD-1 DOHC ZC in a 5th gen car? I would plan on running all stock ZC stuff and having my P06 ecu chipped with the correct P29 maps. I live in Colorado and emissions are not as strict as other places. I imagine I would have no problems passing the sniffer, but no idea if they would give me grief due to having a DOHC engine in a SOHC car. I don't even know if they care, I can't find any documentation on the emissions sites.

- The other option I see is running an OBD-1 or OBD-2 SOHC Non-VTEC ZC. I would still plan on using my P06 ecu but have no idea what the correct fuel maps would be, I assume either PM6 for D16A6 or P2E for D16Y7. Does anyone have any experience with putting an OBD-2 ZC into a OBD-1 5th gen car? I only found one thread on here about this and looks like all the OBD-1 stuff from the original engine needs to be swapped over, but I can't find much evidence on how well this actually works.