Homemade twin scroll top mount - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org Motor Mayhem & Suspension Satisfaction Forced Induction

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2012, 08:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
D-series soldier

13g-crx It's a JDM Star Bitches....13g-crx It's a JDM Star Bitches....13g-crx It's a JDM Star Bitches....13g-crx It's a JDM Star Bitches....13g-crx It's a JDM Star Bitches....
iTrader Score: 6 reviews
Default Homemade twin scroll top mount

I figured I'd share a my manifold build with my d-series peeps. I'm open for suggestion or comments, good or bad. i'm a big boy. I can take it. Its just tacked together so if any changes are to be done they need to be now. This is my first attempt at building any kind of manifold and I already see some things I wish I would've done differently.

Harbor Freight $45 chop saw. I welded some angle iron to the side at the guestimated angle I wanted for the collector. I just clamped the pipe down with a C clamp and hacked away.

...and ended up with 4 of these.

...which became this (x2)

decent welds for a $80 Harbor freight flux core welder.

Here's a shot of the flange I made lined up with the Holset inlet. You can see how much material had to be removed for a smooth transition.

And finally one side of the collector welded to the flange.
13g-crx is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-26-2012, 08:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
D-series soldier

13g-crx It's a JDM Star Bitches....13g-crx It's a JDM Star Bitches....13g-crx It's a JDM Star Bitches....13g-crx It's a JDM Star Bitches....13g-crx It's a JDM Star Bitches....

After the collector was welded up, I made a bracket to hold the turbo in its place which will also support the weight of the turbo. This should help relieve some of the stress off the runners themselves and help prevent cracking.... I hope.