Crank seal leaking? Cause my timing belt to slip occasionally? - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org Motor Mayhem & Suspension Satisfaction Forced Induction

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2011, 12:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
qqq
D-series lover

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default Crank seal leaking? Cause my timing belt to slip occasionally?

I am not a mechanic so the theory proposed in my subject heading is only a hypothesis.

My car was up on the hoist today and to my surprise we found that the crank seal was leaking. I had my engine rebuilt about a year ago and I am pretty sure that the crank seal was brand new installed at that time. Is it odd for a crank seal to give out that early?

Would a bad crank seal cause noticeable oil loss between oil changes?

The leak may very well be from the cam seal as well..

I am going to have both replaced mid april. Is it ok to drive the car if these seals are on their way out and leaking slightly?

Im not sure but, could a leaky crank or cam seal cause my belt to slip?
qqq is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-31-2011, 12:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
qqq
D-series lover

if i have to replace my timing belt due to oil getting at it.. Should I just use OEM or since I am boosted, should I use a reinforced type of belt ??

any use in getting a gates racing timing belt?
Old 03-31-2011, 12:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
qqq
D-series lover

how can you determine if the leak is from the crank seal or the oil pump to block seal?

Old 03-31-2011, 12:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
D-series soldier

Rep Power: 10 Khnemu is a name known to allKhnemu is a name known to allKhnemu is a name known to allKhnemu is a name known to allKhnemu is a name known to allKhnemu is a name known to allKhnemu is a name known to allKhnemu is a name known to all
iTrader Score: 7 reviews