Honda D Series Forum banner

HOW TO: Wire Speeduino standalone ecu to your Honda

48K views 43 replies 9 participants last post by  evo_lucian 
#1 · (Edited)
Still Under Construction.....

How to: Install Speeduino Standalone ECU into Honda/Acura

Edit: October 2021.
I made a plug and play adapter board for the OBD1 Honda so no need to mess with any wiring. You can pick it up here https://wtmtronics.com/product/honda-ss-obd1/

Here is an overview video on the Honda plug and play adapter board:

Disclaimer: I am not an engineer or professional mechanic, tuner or mechanic, use the information here at your own risk. I am not responsible for any damage that may be caused to you or your car. Lastly check your local laws, as this may not be a legal modification in some areas.

I have had quite a few requests in the past to make a write up on installing Speeduino into a Honda D series B series or pretty much any OBD 1 Honda. The info here can be used in an obd2 Honda with a few tweaks.
In this write up I will be covering the v0.4 series of Speeduino but the same information can be used with the V0.3 series. The only difference is the pin orientation/naming on the board, but it’s all the same.

What is Speeduino?

Speeduino is a low cost engine Standalone Management System (EMS) based on the Arduino platform. The project was created by a gentle man by the name of Josh Stewart from Australia. The project is open source which means that it is free to be modified while respecting the terms of the license. The majority of the development and testing thus far has been done by members of the community.

What will I need to fit Speeduino into my car?

You will need a few things to get speeduino to working on your car. Some of which you need to purchase and some are optional since they can be borrowed or are just not needed.
  • Assembled Speeduino V0.4 PCB board
  • Arduino Mega 2560
  • Assembled VR conditioner PCB
  • Laptop with TunerStudio and Arduino IDE installed