D16Y7 with P2J-7 - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org Motor Mayhem & Suspension Satisfaction Engine Building

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2018, 07:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Question D16Y7 with P2J-7

Greetings Everyone,

I am rather new to this. I purchased a 2000 Honda Civic Ex about a year ago. I have had an issue with coolant leaking into a cylinder - told to me by mechanic. I've parked the car for a while, and I am now working on it myself.

After digging into everything, I discovered this car has already had an engine and head swap performed. This car is supposed to have the D16Y8.

So Engine block is D16Y7, and the head is a P2J-7. From what I have read, this combination should work.

I am in the process of removing the head, and was going to take it to a machine shop to get rebuilt/resurfaced.

In regards to the current configuration, is there anything I should check to make sure the swap was done correctly?
gosvalthar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-10-2018, 07:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
n00b

Just wanted to add quickly - I'm not a noob working with engines. I spent a year in auto tech back in high school - 15 years ago. I am comfortable working on the engine, just not haven't done work this deep in a long time.
gosvalthar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2018, 04:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
D-series G0D

Rep Power: 32 mattliston is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !mattliston is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !mattliston is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !mattliston is on a level you can only DREAM about! ! !