The "D" that was meant to be...? - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org » Motor Mayhem & Suspension Satisfaction » Engine Building

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2016, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Lightbulb The "D" that was meant to be...?

First post, LOOOOONG-time lurker; been in this "Honda Game" since '99. Built many mediocre set-ups, but it has come time to show-off a little bit... I'm a machinist by trade, and currently work in the QC/QA department of an aerospace machine shop where I run a Carl Zeiss Contura G2 CMM (coordinate measuring machine).

I'm attempting to build an all-out monster. Let’s say: an EVO/STi-eater; out of my 1991 Civic Wagon RT4WD; custom helical LSD's in the front and rear (Tried to post link to my build thread on civicwagon.com, but DSO's spam filter isn’t having it at the moment), PTE6262E, Web/Bisi3.6, Ferrea Inconel Valves, PTE600FMIC, yadda yadda yadda, all the goodies necessary.

My main goal for this thread is to discuss reasonable/viable D-series engine build geometries. What I mean by that is: My project is by no means being funded via an open checkbook, so simply purchasing a custom rotating assembly (custom crank, custom rods, custom pistons, custom block, etc.) is out of the question and negates the purpose of the proposed discussion.

Here’s what I’m thinking as of right now:

- GE or Darton sleeved D16Z6 block @ 78mm

- D15B VTEC crank