im a newbie so help me out - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org D-series Knowledge Factory DIY Forum

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2004, 12:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
notthepoopf

Default im a newbie so help me out

ok, i have a 1990 crx hf, it has a "d15b" no numbers after the d,ie.d15b6, i dont know how to check if its the jdm d15b or what, it has american parts so it can pass smog but i have no idea if its the jdm (sohc vtec) block or not,
it has a 16 valve head, i see no vtec solinoid, the ecu is still the hf one, and if it is i want to put a vtec head and all the other good stuff. can n e 1 tell me how to check if its the vtec block?

thx
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-02-2004, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
D-series soldier

Rep Power: 16 Apex001 will become famous soon enoughApex001 will become famous soon enoughApex001 will become famous soon enough
iTrader Score: 12 reviews

well the block doesnt contain v-tec the head does. It might be a jdm engine but with us smog parts. you can use a z6 head on that block if you want to go v-tec. there are serveral minime writeups on this forum, check them out. You might want to consider a d16z6(v-tec) from a 92-95 civic. Swap tech guides are here too. "if you search....you will find...."
Apex001 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-2004, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
calboi510

there is a d15b non vtec motor...and that is what you probably have.

from what i can recall it's either the same as a b2 or weaker...

so dont get excited...

Old 06-03-2004, 12:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
notthepoopf