2 wire horn to 1 wire horn?? - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org D-series Knowledge Factory DIY Forum

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2018, 01:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
D-Series cadet
 
Pyro336's Avatar
 
iTrader: (7)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 467
Rep Power: 16 Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....
Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
Default 2 wire horn to 1 wire horn??

I came across a set of 1 wire horns and wanted to know if anyone know how to wire them up. My 88' Civic has 2 wires both and no hornreally. I want to install a set of 1 wire horns that are louder. Any help on how to do so would be great. I've searched but found nothing specific. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Quote:
Just remember that if the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!


You Rep Me, and I'll Rep You Back!!!!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Pyro336 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-04-2018, 02:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
D-Series cadet
 
Sailor's Avatar
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 318
Rep Power: 14 Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!
Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!Sailor is the fucking MAN!!!!
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

Trace the two wires through. I expect one of them will eventually run back to earth. If that's the case, probably all you need to do with the one-wire horn is to make sure the casing is well grounded.

Worth a try, anyway. You shouldn't damage anything.
__________________
Four Hondas: two working


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2018, 02:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
D-Series cadet
 
Pyro336's Avatar
 
iTrader: (7)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 467
Rep Power: 16 Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....
Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor View Post
Trace the two wires through. I expect one of them will eventually run back to earth. If that's the case, probably all you need to do with the one-wire horn is to make sure the casing is well grounded.

Worth a try, anyway. You shouldn't damage anything.
Sorry my first post was a little choppy. The wires that run to the horn are both hot until you press the horn button. At that point one wire goes neutral until the button is released.
__________________
Quote:
Just remember that if the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!


You Rep Me, and I'll Rep You Back!!!!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Pyro336 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-04-2018, 08:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
D-Series cadet
 
EFB055's Avatar
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 438
Rep Power: 9 EFB055 It's a JDM Star Bitches....
EFB055 It's a JDM Star Bitches....EFB055 It's a JDM Star Bitches....
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyro336 View Post
Sorry my first post was a little choppy. The wires that run to the horn are both hot until you press the horn button. At that point one wire goes neutral until the button is released.
Yep, the whole circuit is hot until you press the horn button, which grounds the circuit and turns the horns on. I'd add a relay and use the OEM horn switch to trigger like attached. Note that's assuming the horn is internally grounded through the mounting point.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	single wire horn conversion.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	27.2 KB
ID:	125129  
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
EFB055 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2018, 03:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
D-Series cadet
 
Pyro336's Avatar
 
iTrader: (7)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 467
Rep Power: 16 Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....
Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....Pyro336 It's a JDM Star Bitches....
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EFB055 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyro336 View Post
Sorry my first post was a little choppy. The wires that run to the horn are both hot until you press the horn button. At that point one wire goes neutral until the button is released.
Yep, the whole circuit is hot until you press the horn button, which grounds the circuit and turns the horns on. I'd add a relay and use the OEM horn switch to trigger like attached. Note that's assuming the horn is internally grounded through the mounting point.
Thank you so much for your help. This worked like a charm thank you.
__________________
Quote:
Just remember that if the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy!


You Rep Me, and I'll Rep You Back!!!!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Pyro336 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2018, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
D-Series cadet
 
EFB055's Avatar
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 438
Rep Power: 9 EFB055 It's a JDM Star Bitches....
EFB055 It's a JDM Star Bitches....EFB055 It's a JDM Star Bitches....
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

No worries, glad you got it sorted.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
EFB055 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the D-series.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Security Question
*Required, this field is not shown to others: While balancing on a piece of wood, two inches by four inches known as a 2x4, john and his friend sally both spotted a dalmatian inside a truck with sirens, headed to put out a fire. State what kind of animal is mentioned in the sentence above.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


iconAll times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:56 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.