How I put D17 ignition on my D16 - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org D-series Knowledge Factory DIY Forum

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2014, 08:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
D-series lover

Rep Power: 16 rabid is fly like an eaglerabid is fly like an eaglerabid is fly like an eaglerabid is fly like an eaglerabid is fly like an eaglerabid is fly like an eaglerabid is fly like an eaglerabid is fly like an eaglerabid is fly like an eaglerabid is fly like an eaglerabid is fly like an eaglerabid is fly like an eagle
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Default How I put D17 ignition on my D16

I've been doing this for many years and I haven't really done a write up on it. The way I do things are probably the opposite of "bolt on."

I started in megasquirt about 10 years ago. I like the hard core diy community there. Coil on plug mods are more common these days but it was 2008 and I do my own thing. I didn't do this for performance; just to get rid of the distributor and as a fun project.

Here are some pics of the first running trigger wheel setup.
PICT1261 by rabidflickr, on Flickr
PICT1807 by rabidflickr, on Flickr

Here is the D17 setup for comparison. There are four TDC teeth and one cylinder 1 trigger. Honda uses the crank for rpm and these five teeth on the cam for timing the spark and injection. Megasquirt does support this setup now.
PICT1249 by rabidflickr, on Flickr

My early prototype used a crank sensor from a D16y7 which is a vr type. The D17 engine uses hall sensors. The vr type create a signwave like signal and the hall make a 5 volt digital signal. The vr sensor creates a very low voltage when the teeth are moving slowly and it had to be put very close to the teeth to overcome the noise at cranking. Once at high rpm it would hit upwards of 800 volts! Crazy but the megasquirt didn't care.

I upgraded the cam and needed an adjustable pulley.