3 pin IACV experiment - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org D-series Knowledge Factory DIY Forum

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2011, 09:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
007
D-series post SLUT
 
007's Avatar
 
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,286
Rep Power: 14 007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
iTrader Score: 10 reviews
Default 3 pin IACV experiment

I gather that if you want to convert from OBD2 to OBD1, you need to change the IACV from 3 pin to 2 pin in addition to some wiring modifications. the reason for this was supposed to be tht the 3 pin IACV is driven off a PWM signal while the 2 pin IACV is operated by a simple voltage differential signal.

being the cheap and lazy bastard that I am, I wanted to see for myself whether or not a 3 pin IACV could be run by a voltage differential signal. I had one lying around so I took that, an AC - DC adapter with a variable output voltage setting, couple of wires, alligator clips and went to work. here is the result [annotations added]:


with this, I am pretty certain that a 3 pin IACV can be run by an OBD1 ECU. all that needs to be done is to use the center terminal and one of the two outermost terminals. the center pin takes a constant positive voltage and the outer pins take varying amounts of negative voltage and the difference between the two voltages determines how far the IACV opens. which one of the two outer pins the voltage is applied to determines the direction in which the shaft rotates. with an OBD2 ECU, it can rotate both ways. with an OBD1 2 pin ECU, it will rotate only one way. my guess is that the ECU should be able to learn to control this valve. will know for sure when I get around to doing my conversion.

@2jzdreamin, @xile6, this should be of particular interest to you guys.

Last edited by 007; 09-20-2011 at 10:51 AM.
007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2011, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
wise in the ways of the D
 
v8killaz's Avatar
 
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 1,616
Rep Power: 12 v8killaz is almost there....
v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
Default

i just block those off and run a 2 wire iacv. its not that difficult
__________________
most epic thread-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
v8killaz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
007
D-series post SLUT
 
007's Avatar
 
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,286
Rep Power: 14 007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
iTrader Score: 10 reviews
Default

2 pin IACVs are sorta rare to come by here and expensive. they also require intake manifold modification.

this method requires no modification other than wiring. almost plug and play shit.
007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-20-2011, 11:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
wise in the ways of the D
 
v8killaz's Avatar
 
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: detroit mi
Posts: 1,616
Rep Power: 12 v8killaz is almost there....
v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....v8killaz is almost there....
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
Default

werd. modifying the intake is easy though just need a drill.
__________________
most epic thread-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
v8killaz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 11:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
007
D-series post SLUT
 
007's Avatar
 
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,286
Rep Power: 14 007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
iTrader Score: 10 reviews
Default

true. but still something I would still like to avoid as this alternative is way simpler. Im getting a 2 pin IACV as a backup though. it the ECU cannot control this, Ill go the conventional way.
007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 11:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
D-series post SLUT
 
snm95ls's Avatar
 
iTrader: (16)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,794
Rep Power: 26 snm95ls Still a JDM Star....
snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
Default

I have tried it, and it doesn't really work properly. It works, kind of.
__________________
06 Legacy GT Spec B DD
2017 Suzuki SV650



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
snm95ls is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 12:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
007
D-series post SLUT
 
007's Avatar
 
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,286
Rep Power: 14 007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
iTrader Score: 10 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snm95ls View Post
I have tried it, and it doesn't really work properly. It works, kind of.
can you describe what happens? and what did you do for the wiring? get rid of the orange IACVN wire and retain the blue / black IACVP?
007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 12:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
D-series post SLUT
 
snm95ls's Avatar
 
iTrader: (16)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,794
Rep Power: 26 snm95ls Still a JDM Star....
snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 007 View Post
can you describe what happens? and what did you do for the wiring? get rid of the orange IACVN wire and retain the blue / black IACVP?

It has been a while ago, but IIRC if had a very limited range of idle control.

Yes, that is how I set it up IIRC.
__________________
06 Legacy GT Spec B DD
2017 Suzuki SV650



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
snm95ls is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 01:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
007
D-series post SLUT
 
007's Avatar
 
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,286
Rep Power: 14 007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
iTrader Score: 10 reviews
Default

thanks dude. gotta ask you one more thing... did you try adjusting the plate on the other side of the IACV to give it some range?

here is what I found it could do:

regular setting:


tweaked setting:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	before.JPG
Views:	2499
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	28991   Click image for larger version

Name:	after.JPG
Views:	2731
Size:	68.6 KB
ID:	28992  
007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 02:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
D-series post SLUT
 
snm95ls's Avatar
 
iTrader: (16)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,794
Rep Power: 26 snm95ls Still a JDM Star....
snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....snm95ls Still a JDM Star....
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
Default

I didn't bother with it that much because I knew I was going to be switching manifolds and IACVS at some point.

Interesting though.
__________________
06 Legacy GT Spec B DD
2017 Suzuki SV650



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
snm95ls is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 12:45 AM   #11 (permalink)
D-series soldier
 
Zen Chameleon's Avatar
 
iTrader: (30)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Blahville Arkansas
Posts: 751
Rep Power: 11 Zen Chameleon is a name known to allZen Chameleon is a name known to allZen Chameleon is a name known to allZen Chameleon is a name known to allZen Chameleon is a name known to allZen Chameleon is a name known to allZen Chameleon is a name known to allZen Chameleon is a name known to allZen Chameleon is a name known to allZen Chameleon is a name known to all
iTrader Score: 30 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 007 View Post
being the cheap and lazy bastard that I am, I wanted to see for myself whether or not a 3 pin IACV could be run by a voltage differential signal. I had one lying around so I took that, an AC - DC adapter with a variable output voltage setting, couple of wires, alligator clips and went to work.
I've always found it slightly entertaining to see lazy people work twice as hard while attempting not to do any work at all. Carry on and good luck
__________________
Delilah '97 Del Sol S
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
grab your rod and shake it, it the piston rattles you are OK!

Don't forget the lube!
Zen Chameleon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 12:53 AM   #12 (permalink)
007
D-series post SLUT
 
007's Avatar
 
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,286
Rep Power: 14 007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
iTrader Score: 10 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Chameleon View Post
I've always found it slightly entertaining to see lazy people work twice as hard while attempting not to do any work at all. Carry on and good luck
LOL! thanks man.

it is like an investment. if a little bit of work today helps me be lazy tomorrow, I go for it
007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 07:34 AM   #13 (permalink)
D-series lover
 
netpsyche's Avatar
 
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 201
Rep Power: 8 netpsyche will become famous soon enoughnetpsyche will become famous soon enoughnetpsyche will become famous soon enough
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Default

good idea lazy boy
netpsyche is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 07:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
Formally D_Tuned
 
Tw34k's Avatar
 
iTrader: (13)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jax FL
Posts: 2,884
Rep Power: 19 Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!
Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!Tw34k is the fucking MAN!!!!
iTrader Score: 13 reviews
Default

Pulse-width modulation - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Stepper motor - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________
Quote:
All I ever wanted was to pop vtec...
Tw34k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 08:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
n00b
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Rep Power: 0 babyboichris5 is nobody
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

can IACV caue idle problem ??
babyboichris5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2012, 12:07 AM   #16 (permalink)
D-series lover
 
Blackhorn's Avatar
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 127
Rep Power: 9 Blackhorn is trying to make new friends
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

yes it does...

please search the forum before jacking someone's thread, i am sure there's more than enough info on the forum
Blackhorn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2012, 05:33 AM   #17 (permalink)
Member
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 73
Rep Power: 8 Ekd16turbo is nobody
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

Just wondering, it's easier to just cut one of the wires and splice them together for the iacv? then just plug it, it seems like this is a lot more work.
Ekd16turbo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2012, 09:28 AM   #18 (permalink)
007
D-series post SLUT
 
007's Avatar
 
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,286
Rep Power: 14 007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano007 is hot as a volcano
iTrader Score: 10 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ekd16turbo View Post
Just wondering, it's easier to just cut one of the wires and splice them together for the iacv? then just plug it, it seems like this is a lot more work.
it is easier if you already have a 2 pin IACV. I am simply interested in checking if it is truly impossible to make an OBD2 IACV work with an OBD1 ECU.
007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2012, 01:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Gus
D-Series cadet
 
Gus's Avatar
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 495
Rep Power: 11 Gus smells like BoratGus smells like BoratGus smells like BoratGus smells like BoratGus smells like Borat
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

2 - Wire is for Manual trans ecu's and 3 wire is for autos, OBD version has nothing to do with it. Just to let everybody know.
__________________
Rock n roll doesn't come from your head. It comes from your crotch!
Gus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2012, 01:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Gus
D-Series cadet
 
Gus's Avatar
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 495
Rep Power: 11 Gus smells like BoratGus smells like BoratGus smells like BoratGus smells like BoratGus smells like Borat
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 007 View Post
it is easier if you already have a 2 pin IACV. I am simply interested in checking if it is truly impossible to make an OBD2 IACV work with an OBD1 ECU.
It works, got a 2000 2 wire being controlled by a P06 Manual trans.
__________________
Rock n roll doesn't come from your head. It comes from your crotch!
Gus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the D-series.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


iconAll times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:51 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.