Rear Disc Brake Conversion - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org D-series Knowledge Factory DIY Forum

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2004, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
wise in the ways of the D
 
mark7901's Avatar
 
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 1,624
Rep Power: 16 mark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunna
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
Send a message via AIM to mark7901
Default Rear Disc Brake Conversion

I was wondering why when people do the rear disc brake conv. on a 5th gen civic, the use the WHOLE rear arm instead of just using the wheel hub...the arms are the same size. Does anyone else know that you can just use the hubs and you dont need the whole arm. This saves you the fact of "re-aligning" your car.

Last edited by mark7901; 11-05-2004 at 11:21 AM.
mark7901 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2004, 11:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
D-series soldier
 
horny_devil's Avatar
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 838
Rep Power: 16 horny_devil  is slowly gaining respecthorny_devil  is slowly gaining respecthorny_devil  is slowly gaining respecthorny_devil  is slowly gaining respecthorny_devil  is slowly gaining respect
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

id still be realigning the car anyway any mods to supension or hubs id get it checked.

its a lot easier to do if u get the whole arm cause its a strait swap.
horny_devil is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2004, 11:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
wise in the ways of the D
 
mark7901's Avatar
 
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 1,624
Rep Power: 16 mark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunna
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
Send a message via AIM to mark7901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by horny_devil
id still be realigning the car anyway any mods to supension or hubs id get it checked.

its a lot easier to do if u get the whole arm cause its a strait swap.

Yeah, if just the hubs get switched their is no need to re-align. It is a stright swap if you do just the hubs as well....
mark7901 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-05-2004, 12:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
D-series soldier
 
horny_devil's Avatar
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 838
Rep Power: 16 horny_devil  is slowly gaining respecthorny_devil  is slowly gaining respecthorny_devil  is slowly gaining respecthorny_devil  is slowly gaining respecthorny_devil  is slowly gaining respect
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

id still be getting an alignment done the parts from a different car and may be slightly off

ur choce really
horny_devil is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2004, 12:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
wise in the ways of the D
 
mark7901's Avatar
 
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 1,624
Rep Power: 16 mark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunnamark7901 is da #1 stunna
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
Send a message via AIM to mark7901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by horny_devil
id still be getting an alignment done the parts from a different car and may be slightly off

ur choce really

I hear ya, good idea.......but should not be needed (but Im sure its not going to hurt, except its around $50 around here for an alignment.)

Should only 5 hex bolts on each side to take the hub off, then one center screw nut combo....
mark7901 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2004, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
calboi510
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

how hard is it to do a rear disc brake swap?

and what do you need? i'm kinda pondering about this...

because i dont like the ex brakes, too big, i want to be able to fit vx rims on my car. so i was thinking about doing a whole brake conversion, because i notices on the eg si, they have four brakes, but then the front ones are smaller.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2004, 04:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 204
Rep Power: 0 bartek_b is learning the way of the Dbartek_b is learning the way of the D
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calboi510
how hard is it to do a rear disc brake swap?

and what do you need? i'm kinda pondering about this...

because i dont like the ex brakes, too big, i want to be able to fit vx rims on my car. so i was thinking about doing a whole brake conversion, because i notices on the eg si, they have four brakes, but then the front ones are smaller.

You need the full rear disc conversion of a EG civic that has rear disc breaks. You can get away with using your current trailing arms but swapping the disc hubs but that is a bit of work.

Go to www.honda-tech.com and search for rear disc conversion and you will find many many threads about this setup
bartek_b is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2004, 06:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
puregroove
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

a lot of the quicker locals around here have opted not to do the rear disc conversion for weight savings.

I'm all for going faster, so if I can keep from adding more weight to the car and still be able to get by... :::thumbup:::

I actually have a set of rear discs from a gsr sitting in my garage because I decided not to upgrade.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2004, 06:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Rep Power: 0 jobe_149 is nobody
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by puregroove
a lot of the quicker locals around here have opted not to do the rear disc conversion for weight savings.

I'm all for going faster, so if I can keep from adding more weight to the car and still be able to get by... :::thumbup:::

I actually have a set of rear discs from a gsr sitting in my garage because I decided not to upgrade.
I like to go fast and be able to stop fast...even if rear disc only makes a 5 foot difference.
jobe_149 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2004, 06:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
puregroove
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

^^^I'll most likely change my mind after she makes more power, though.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2004, 09:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
All powerful D-series member
 
makku's Avatar
 
iTrader: (11)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,363
Rep Power: 20 makku is a Top Aussie
makku is a Top Aussiemakku is a Top Aussiemakku is a Top Aussiemakku is a Top Aussiemakku is a Top Aussiemakku is a Top Aussiemakku is a Top Aussiemakku is a Top Aussiemakku is a Top Aussiemakku is a Top Aussiemakku is a Top Aussie
iTrader Score: 11 reviews
Send a message via AIM to makku Send a message via MSN to makku Send a message via Yahoo to makku
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark7901
I hear ya, good idea.......but should not be needed (but Im sure its not going to hurt, except its around $50 around here for an alignment.)
go to a place that offers a year warranty. That way you can go back and get it done for free whenever you take your tires off
__________________
My car: 94 Civic DX sedan w/ JDM D15B VTEC
Trustworthy people: krAzySi, thesqad127, Turntune, Civic4ges, Sonny7730, mark7901, miked16z6, Low EG-T

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
forecast for tomorrow... a few sprinkles of genius with a chance for DOOM!
Quote:
But I thought you said TV was bad?
It is... but we fucking need it.
makku is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2004, 10:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Shackle me NOT!!!
 
flatfourfan's Avatar
 
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Posts: 4,692
Rep Power: 30 flatfourfan Still a JDM Star....
flatfourfan Still a JDM Star....flatfourfan Still a JDM Star....flatfourfan Still a JDM Star....flatfourfan Still a JDM Star....flatfourfan Still a JDM Star....flatfourfan Still a JDM Star....flatfourfan Still a JDM Star....flatfourfan Still a JDM Star....flatfourfan Still a JDM Star....
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default

hehehehehe^^^^^^^^

never tried that
flatfourfan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the D-series.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


iconAll times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:54 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.