Car won't run after AEM cam gear install - D-series.org

Go Back   D-series.org Motor Mayhem & Suspension Satisfaction 7th Gen

D-Series.org is the premier Honda All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2015, 06:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Default Car won't run after AEM cam gear install

I'm a newb to this site, new to tuning, but not a new technician and I have never had this issue before.

I bought kpro for my d17 and in order to run kpro, I need to use this AEM cam gear. Hondata says it has modified teeth and kpro absolutely will not work without it. Today I installed the cam gear and the kpro installed ecu and the car wouldn't run. I tried advancing, and retarding the timing on the gear itself. I tried to just run the car on stock ecu with the AEM gear - same issue. The motor starts, revs up, and dies. I tried each and every degree of advancing and retarding. This means I rotated the motor to TDC 20 times, adjusted the gear a degree, and 20 times failed to get a running motor.

I removed the AEM cam gear and reinstalled the oem gear. Perfectly running motor.

I'm baffled because even though they say the AEM gear has modified teeth, I put them right on top of each other and they are identical but my car won't run with that gear installed...Same amount of teeth, same diameter, everything. I'm believing the only difference between oem and AEM is the fact AEM is adjustable.

What am I doing wrong? And I know you can't use kpro without the gear, BUT can you use the gear without kpro?
Markwnjr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-23-2015, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
D-series G0D

Rep Power: 25 xile6 is the fucking MAN!!!!xile6 is the fucking MAN!!!!xile6 is the fucking MAN!!!!xile6 is the fucking MAN!!!!